Current Projects

Brave 2021: CoMotion Festival at Harbourfront Centre

Alex is the lead curator for a new international Disability Arts festival, Brave 2021: CoMotion, produced by Harbourfront Centre, scheduled for April 2021. Details upcoming…

May I Take Your Arm (re-imagined for a digital platform) produced by Red Dress Productions 
FoLDA and Luminato Festival Toronto: Virtual 2020
June 12 @ 7:30PM EDT (8:30PM ADT / 5:30PM MDT / 4:30PM PDT)

Created by Alex, Anna Camilleri, Tristan Whiston, and Katie Yealland, May I Take Your Arm emerged from audio-recorded walks between Alex and strangers who provided sighted guide in a downtown neighbourhood in Toronto. MITYA has evolved into a theatre piece that integrates live performance, immersive audio, live video, tactile installation, and audience interaction. And now, during these physically distant times, MITYA will be reimagined and remixed as an online performance for Kingston’s Festival of Live Digital Art (FoLDA) and Luminato Festival Toronto:Virtual 2020

Play Readings for the Blind community in Canada co-produced by Common Boots Theatre and Balance for Blind Adults

June 16th at 5 pm (EDT), June 23rd at 7pm (EDT), July 7th at 7pm (EDT)

Click here for more information information 

Alex is the project leader for an ACTRA Covid Response Initiative that brings seasoned and emerging professional artists together to read scripts on Zoom for the Blind community during the pandemic. Curated by Alex, and produced by Common Boots Theatre in partnership with Balance for Blind Adults, these intimate, hilarious, and provocative plays will be performed for the Blind community, their families, and those who support them.

Blind Imaginings Workshop supported by the Canada Council for the Arts
Ongoing

Alex has created a series of workshops that re-imagine creative process from a non-sighted perspective, de-centring vision, and asking what can be discovered when we imagine beyond the assumed. Blind Imaginings brings together writers, performers, directors, designers, and members of the blind community to explore theatre making and blindness and examine current techniques of inclusion both for audiences and artists, opening space to reveal how the inclusion of blind people can inform and shape how we make art. Their inaugural workshop was held on April 9th, 10th and 11th, 2019.

Listen to the Blind Imaginings Podcast here.